Munchkin’s Potty Learning Journey

I am pleased to report that Munchkin is mostly potty learned during the day now. It has been a really long, slow journey. (I really use “journey” a lot, but that is what parenting is, right?).

I had bought one of those plastic frog potty chairs sometime between a year and a year and a half. Just to have it around in case he wanted to try to use the potty. He liked following me into the bathroom, of course what baby/toddler doesn’t. It’s obviously a very happening place. :p He would get all up in my personal space to investigate what was happening when I sat on the toilet.  I miss the days of being able to use the bathroom without an audience.

He started showing an interest at 18 months. We were keeping the potty in the bathroom for him and he would sit on it (fully clothed) while I sat on the toilet. We made a point to sit him on it right before we got him in the bath and when we took him out. I’d say “Let’s go potty” and make a “sssss” noise. He’d laugh, I’d laugh and then he would get up without doing anything. It was a little while before he actually did do anything on it. When he finally did, I was very excited and so was he.

I decided to bring the potty out to the living room and started letting him run around the house with a naked butt. We would sit him on the potty frequently, but of course he would never go when we sat him on it. He had to do it on his terms. He did great as long as he wasn’t wearing any pants. We’d try putting training pants or big boy underwear on him and he would just pee in them. Eventually he would lose interest and want to wear diapers again. We just followed his lead.

This back and forth went on for a year and a half. Then about a week before Christmas (and just before he turned 3), he decided he wanted to use the potty again. I decided this time that I was going to put him underwear and see what happened. The first day was rough. We kept reminding him to use the potty and he did a few times. There were quite a few wardrobe changes though. We left him in underwear for nap time and he woke up dry. We did put him in a diaper at bedtime though. He is still a pretty heavy night-time wetter.

The second day was better than the first. We went through about half the wardrobe changes as the previous day. Still dry at nap time, but a diaper to bed.

Day three was fantastic! Not a single change of clothes was needed! Yay for Munchkin and yay for us!

He has continued to do well over the past 6 or so weeks. He still has days where he accidents, but that is to be expected. He gets caught up playing and doesn’t want to stop. It is cute though because he will jump up and yell “Potty!” and then go running into the bathroom. Sometimes he wants help, sometimes not. Oh, and he uses the “big potty”. We keep the little potty in the car now. It has come in very handy.

My baby is growing up. It’s crazy to see him standing up at the toilet and peeing because he has to be a big boy. He actually told me last week that he wasn’t a baby, Peanut is the baby. I call Munchkin “Babe” or “Baby” all the time (affectionately of course). I made a sad face and we had a conversation about it. I told him even if I couldn’t call him “Baby” he would in fact, always be my baby. He thought about it and then decided it would be alright if I continued to call him “Baby”. I made sure to tell him thank you and of course gave him a big hug.

Still on the pottying theme, a few nights ago he randomly decided to remove his pants and diaper while he was in bed. He woke up completely dry. It’s weird because he normally soaks his diaper overnight. This was the only night it happened, but I’m taking it as a sign of things to come.

3 thoughts on “Munchkin’s Potty Learning Journey

    • It is a little on the bigger size. It was only simple potty I could find at the time. I am going to get a smaller one to use with Peanut when he is ready.

Leave a Reply

