Wrapping up World Breastfeeding Week

Well, the week got away from me and I didn’t follow through. . . Sorry about that. It’s really hard to blog with 2 little ones that demand your attention all day. 🙂 Heck, it takes me 3 hours to drink a cup of coffee in the morning.

Anyway. I did make it to our local Big Latch On event on Saturday. It was a fun morning. We all had to try to get our little ones to latch on at exactly 10:30am and get our picture taken. Have you tried to get a child to nurse on cue or even do anything on cue? Peanut latched just long enough to get our picture taken, thank goodness! After that we all hung around for our La Leche League meeting. It was really just an excuse to get out and socialize and maybe get at least one random person to think about breastfeeding in a positive light.

We (me and the boys) hung out for a while. The event took place in the children’s play area of the mall. Munchkin had a blast of course. Peanut got passed around and absorbed the sights and sounds of the mall. We had some lunch with friends in the food court. As we were leaving Munchkin pointed to the carousel. I had promised that we could take ride on it before we went home. I had Peanut on my back in the Ergo  and had Munchkin pick out which horse he wanted to ride on. Peanut seemed to enjoy his first ride on a carousel and promptly fell asleep when we got off. He was so tired that I managed to get him off my back and buckled securely into his car seat without him waking. That never happens. All in all, it was a really good day.

Since this is a wrap up, I thought I might leave you all with some breastfeeding links.

Kelly Mom – A wonderful site that pretty much has any information that you could ever want to know about breastfeeding.

The Leaky B@@b – Real mom experience with breastfeeding

Stanford University Breastfeeding Videos – There are some really great videos about latching, pumping, hand expressing, etc. I used these a lot and found them incredibly helpful.

Pump Moms – Yahoo! Pump Moms group. I relied on these women heavily when I was pumping for Munchkin. They were such great help and I learned soooo much from them. So whether you are pumping a little or a lot, I highly recommend joining up with them.

La Leche League International – Breastfeeding support. Find your local group and attend meetings. Even if you have breastfeeding down pat, it’s still nice to have an excuse to get out of the house and socialize. If you are newly pregnant, go to some meetings and hear from real women how their breastfeeding journey has been. Even if you are on the fence about breastfeeding, they will welcome you into their group and answer any and all questions you have.

Mother Food by Hilary Jacobson – I highly recommend this book. It is a wealth of information on how diet and herbal supplements can help or hurt your supply and about overall health.

Best for Babes– How to beat the “Booby traps”. Really great organization.

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding – A great breastfeeding guide and resource to have. Really a necessity for all breastfeeding moms.

That is it for now. It’s all my brain can muster up. I will add more as I think of them.

Have a great night all and happy breastfeeding!

Leave a Reply

