Missing : Sleep loving child

This week has been seriously rough.

Peanut, who previously has loved sleep, is now fighting it horribly. . .

He is having a very hard time settling down to sleep at night. He breastfeeds and then cries and thrashes around and then breastfeeds some more and then cries and thrashes, and, well, you get the picture. This can go on for 10 minutes or it can go on for an hour.

I guess it just depends on how crazy his day was.

Being a toddler is hard work. I understand this. I do. Really.

Toddlers are working on finding words to communicate. They have hundreds of things to climb on. Lots of running to do. Millions of bugs to discover. Cars, dinosaurs, stuffed animals and blocks galore. Pages, tables, and walls to color. Chickens , cats, dogs, and goats to chase. Leaves, flowers, and dirt to taste. Food to toss everywhere, but your mouth. After all, they already filled up on flora and dirt šŸ˜‰ A big brother to follow around and imitate. Then survive attacks by said big brother. And of course make sure the adults think you are too cute to get mad at.

See? Very busy. It can be hard to wind down from all that.

So, anyway. Once he finally gets to sleep, he will sleep for 3 – 4 hours. Then the fun really begins.

Near the end of this 3 or 4 hour stretch is usually when I want to crawl in bed and go to sleep. In “normal” land, I would crawl in give him the boob and we would both pass out until morning (give or take a boob session or two). Alas, we are not in “normal” land anymore. We are now in “Let’s deprive Mama of all sleep” land. Way more fun here. . . .

In this new land, we wake up at midnight and thrash around, and whine, and play with the stuffed animals, and pop on and off of my breast a million times. This goes on for hours. We end up only getting a few hours of broken sleep. Not enough to be super productive during the day. I only end up being somewhat productive. I got diapers washed today. Yay! Go me! Oh, and I got instructions on how to use the ride on mower.

I hope my sleep loving toddler returns to me soon. I am not sure how many more nights of not sleeping I can take before I crack. So if you happen to see him, can you please send him back home?

How is sleep going in your land?

I miss this ā¤

Leave a Reply

