The importance of supportive partners to breastfeeding.

Sometimes I take for granted how supportive Hubby is about me breastfeeding. He doesn’t have anything bad to say about it (part of it is he gets to see my boobs on a regular basis, hehe). In fact, the majority of the breastfeeding pics I post are taken by him. With no prompting from me. He knows how important it is to me to breastfeed. And he knows how special this time around is for me. I didn’t get this experience with Munchkin.

I hear stories from other moms about how their husbands just don’t understand what the big deal is. Or don’t think that much effort should have to be put into it. It is supposed to be natural right? For a lot of moms and babes though, it is a process. It is a learning experience for everyone involved, especially when our society has made breastfeeding into the tabu it is seen as today.

Husbands, boyfriends, partners, don’t understand how big of a roll they play in the success of our breastfeeding relationships. The truth is we need their support, whether they think we do or not. We have bad days where we wonder if the stress, pain, frustration, especially in those first weeks, is worth it. We need them there to sit beside us and remind us we are doing great. That yes, it is all worth it. To be a shoulder to lean on. To be our rock. Keep encouraging us. Keep their thoughts and phrases positive. Help us find the solutions to the hiccups we experience. To not mention bottles or formula. To help shoo away less than helpful comments and advice from well-meaning friends and relatives. We need them to be our force field against the negative.

We also need them for the little things like refilling our water and maybe even feeding us a hot meal when our hands are tied up holding a baby that has been on the breast nonstop. Or scratching that itch on the end of your nose.

They have a big responsibility.

Hubby was great when I was pumping for Munchkin. I was having so many problems and he was always googling and offering suggestions. Of course my hormones and emotions were all over the place and more than once I snapped because, well, I was just feeling a little crazed. I really did and do appreciate all he did and does to help.

A big “Thank You” to my supportive Hubby.

I hope other partners begin to realize how important they are to our success.

This is Hubby. He was happy he got to play around with his dad’s new dirt bike 🙂

2 thoughts on “The importance of supportive partners to breastfeeding.

  1. Absolutely! My husband was and continues to be a huge support when it comes to breastfeeding and I know it was a contributing factor to our long term success! He loves seeing me nurse – he thinks it’s beautful and amazing that a woman’s body is made to support life even when the baby is on the outside. And I couldn’t agree more! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The importance of supportive partners to breastfeeding. | Amanda's … – Your Guide To Breastfeeding

Leave a Reply

