Sh*t Happens

Earlier today Munchkin suddenly stopped all activity. He was just standing there leaning on the handle of his trampoline. He had a kind of thoughtful/guilty expression on his face.

I asked him what he was doing and he replied with nothing. I asked if he was ok and he replied mhm.

Then I realized he was actually looking at something. So I asked him what he was looking at and he shyly pointed with his pinky. At first I didn’t see anything and then I realized there was a nugget of poo on the floor. . .

I asked him if he had an accident and he said yeah. (He just had on shorts and no underwear. He changes his clothes a million times a day) I replied with ok and said I would clean it up. He then asked me if I was mad. I told him I wasn’t and that accidents happen. He was so relieved. He ran down the hallway stating that he would help and grabbed some toilet paper to clean up the mess.

Poor kiddo. He was so afraid that I would be angry with him. He has been doing so fantastic with using the potty. I understand that accidents happen. Cleaning them up off the living room carpet isn’t the most fun job, but it is okay. I made sure he knew that we don’t want to make a habit of pooing on the floor and that he needs to listen to his body when it tells him he needs to go. I also told him not to be afraid to tell me when things happen and I will do my best to stay positive.

Love him

Leave a Reply

