A Good Day

Today was quite a busy day. I was up at 8am with Peanut. Munchkin slept late because he didn’t go to bed until 11:30 the previous night. He is going through one of his “I don’t want to sleep, ever!” phases. K and I got ourselves and Peanut ready to leave the house. I let Munchkin sleep as late as possible. I really didn’t want to wake him. He woke at 9:30, right when I wanted to be out the door. So I just threw shoes on him and brought him to the car in his pajamas. He was slightly confused by this. We were just going to a La Leche League meeting, so it didn’t matter if he stayed in his pajamas. We stopped at Dunkin Donuts because I was in desperate need of some coffee. (I really need to try and do something about MY avoidance of bed. Hmmm, wonder where Munchkin gets it from?) Then we stopped and picked up a friend and her adorable little girl. K was demoted to the rumble seat in the back of the station wagon so we could all fit. (Sorry K!)

We had a great meeting. I love going. Yes, we talk about breastfeeding, but we also discuss parenting and how to relate to our children. Plus, I have a reason to get out of the house and converse with other adults. Anywho, the kiddos all had a great time. They played nicely today. No arguments. I think they ranged in age from 2 1/2 months to 4 years. After the meeting we played out in the playground for about 20 minutes and then hopped in the car to go to another playground. There we met up with the homeschool group that I joined.

I love this homeschool group. A lot of great people. I am trying to get a feel for homeschooling and have been doing a lot of reading. Every Friday, the group has a playground day. Thats what we take part in because Munchkin is still too young to really do much else. We stayed for 2 1/2 hours. It was a great playground. Lots of room to run and great play structures. Munchkin played hard. He really is a non-stop kid. I thought for sure that he would nap on the way home. Nope. Not my child. He dozed off for about 5 minutes right at the end of the car ride.

I tried to bring him in the house and put him in his bed, but he got right up. My husband tried to get him to lie back down, no such luck. He was obviously tired, but he wasn’t giving in to it. So I let it go. I was a little worried though. We had plans to have a late dinner, at a restaurant, for K’s birthday. . .

Fast forward to dinner. I thought for sure (yeah, again) that Munchkin would fall asleep on the way there, this time I didn’t want him to. I have to admit, I was nervous. A busy play day, with lots of outside time and no nap, often equals severe meltdowns. I was soooooooooooo (not sure if I have enough “o”s :p) impressed. Munchkin did fantastic. Besides a random spoon  throw, he did great. We were there for an hour and a half. I was/am so proud of him.

Munchkin fell asleep on the way home and I thought we would be all set. I got him in his bed, removed his shoes and jacket, covered him and gave him a kiss. Next thing you know he was standing in the kitchen. *sigh* I got him out of his clothes, changed his diaper and then put him in some pajamas that were shorts and a t-shirt because he has been waking up sweaty the past few nights. This was NOT acceptable. He was sitting there trying to pull down the sleeves  and having a minor meltdown. I had to go get another pair of pajamas, long sleeves and pants this time and redress him. I then had to lie down with him in his bed until he fell asleep. This took a really long time and I ended up falling asleep with him for a bit. I really hate when I do that, because when I wake up, I am wide awake and can’t go back to sleep for a while.

I have to mention that Peanut did fantastic today too. He was mellow and happy all day. He slept through LLL. I wore him while we were at the playground. He got passed all around at dinner. He even entertained a neighboring table with his smiles. 🙂

So that was our day. It was a good day. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

